Header Ads

Destiny: The Dark Below (Video Game Review)

Developer Bungie and publisher Activision have teamed up to launch the first DLC package for their hit game Destiny. The Dark Below packs plenty of additional content and has some fun encounters for players to take on in solo play or online multiplayer. Destiny already featured nearly endless hours of replay value, but The Dark Below gives fans fresh content to explore including an exciting final mission that will have players fighting desperately to survive an onslaught of overwhelming odds against numerous enemies and a dangerous final boss.

The new storyline follows one of the world's most powerful warriors that survived the battles of the game's main campaign, as Eris Morn teams up with playable characters to fight their way to the deep caverns beneath the Moon in order to fight the entity known simply as Crota. The baddie was shortly referenced in the primary storyline, but the antagonist is much more involved in the new missions. Most of the missions and cutscenes of the DLC is narrated by Eris, and the character shines as a great storyteller that makes The Dark Below an expansion worth owning.

There are four primary missions included in The Dark Below. Destiny delivered tons of content for players at launch, and The Dark Below adds even more bads guys to blast away and some additional objectives to complete. Some of the objectives feel similar to those seen in the original campaign, and the new release only adds one new foe in the Omnigul. The powerful witch is capable of casting magic spells and inflicting a new debuff on party members called Weight of Darkness that lowers visibility during the final mission of the game.

Players will need to have played Destiny for quite some time before jumping into The Dark Below. The content is only easily completed by leveling to 30 and beyond, so players that have not spent a whole lot of time with the game will feel as though they've wasted money on the content until the appropriate level is reached. This creates a major problem with the content that will alienate some players, though most players that are willing to drop $20 on the new content will have spent enough time with the original game to enjoy the new DLC.

Though The Dark Below adds new weapons, but the upgrade system for the weapons make using the firearms without spending a considerable amount of time with the DLC a waste of time. The new Raid and Strike can be fun, and the three new multiplayer maps Pantheon, Cauldron and Skyshock are fairly enjoyable for player versus player matches. There is enough content to make The Dark Below, but there are enough problems with the content that keeps it from being a must own for Destiny players.

The Dark Below expands on the original content included in Destiny, and many gamers that greatly enjoyed the game will want to pick up the new DLC. There is enough content included in the expansion to make the purchase worth the asking price. There are truly some memorable missions and enemy encounters to see in The Dark Below, though a few problems keep the new expansion from being as good as fans would have hoped for out of the game's first DLC drop. Destiny fans that have seen all of the content the original game has to offer should pick up on PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 3 for additional content, and The Dark Below is also currently available for Xbox One and Xbox 360.

Destiny: The Dark Below is now available for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One and Xbox 360 and can be purchased for $19.99. Destiny is rated T by the ESRB for Animated Blood & Violence. For more information on the expansion, check out the official Destiny: The Dark Below website.

Game Features:
  • Massively Online Multiplayer
  • New Weapons, Multiplayer Maps, Strike and Raid
  • PlayStation Exclusive Content
  • Season Pass Available
  • Trophy/Achievement Support

Game Information:
Developer: Bungie
Publisher: Activision
Platforms: PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One (reviewed) & Xbox 360
Release Date: December 9, 2014

Score: 6.5 out of 10
Powered by Blogger.